Two Colorado State University faculty members, Michael Antolin and Carmen Menoni, have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Election as a AAAS fellow is bestowed on association members by their peers.

Antolin, professor and chair of the Department of Biology in the College of Natural Sciences, was cited for his “pioneering contributions to our understanding of zoonotic disease transmission and promotion of evolutionary concepts to broader scientific and public audiences.”

Menoni, a University Distinguished Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was cited for “distinguished contributions to nanoscale imaging and spectroscopy at extreme ultraviolet wavelengths, and for advancing the science and technology of optical materials and devices.”

Antolin and Menoni join 389 other AAAS members this year as honorees, in recognition of their “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.”

New fellows will be formally recognized on Feb. 18, 2017 during the AAAS Fellows Forum, part of the 2017 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston. The list of new fellows appears in the AAAS News and Notes section of Science, Nov. 25.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science as well as Science Translational Medicine, Science Signaling, Science Advances (of which Menoni is an associate editor), Science Immunology and Science Robotics.

AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes nearly 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals.


Read Antolin, Menoni named fellows of American Association for the Advancement of Science published in SOURCE here:

All Announcements